Introduction to Paris

I have been away from the computer for quite a while. My mother became ill unexpectedly right after the new year. Fortunately, she is doing well now. Then, my husband and I then left for Germany. He had to go there for work, but we were able to take a side trip to Paris. It was only 48 hours (how I wish it had been longer!), but it was wonderful. Paris was what I had expected: beautiful, stimulating, artistic, delicious!

I see now why the Avenue des Champs-Élysées is called the most beautiful avenue in the world. It was even more impressive in person than in photos. Walking down that street was a surreal experience. I felt like I was watching a movie. For the most part, women were very chic. I felt decidedly un-chic since I was wearing several layers of clothes, including a bulky ski jacket (one damper was the weather. Being from south Florida, I am cold if it’s below 80 degrees F. Parisian women seem to be immune to damp cold: most were still dressed in skirts, light tights, small sweaters and little boots/heels).

The culture there is unparalleled. The Musée du Louvre is magnificent. We did not see all of it since we were short on time, but what we saw was beautiful. We also had music on the Metro. It seems that a lot of street musicians play for change in between stops.

The food was so wonderful. I had my birthday dinner there (I turned 39 right before we left and I told my husband I didn’t want to go out on my actual birthday…I wanted to have my birthday dinner in Paris). The cheese course after dinner is the best invention ever. We had croissants and cafe creme for breakfast and macaroons in the afternoon.

We saw the Eiffel Tower at night, lit up and beautiful. Incredibly romantic.

It was a lovely whirlwind!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Introduction to Paris

  1. Rebekah says:

    What a lovely visit to Paris! You seem to have made the most of your brief time. If you weren’t able to see all of the sites you wanted (and how can one, unless you live there for a year), at least you ate well!

    I may have the opportunity to go to Paris this fall to celebrate my 40th, and I hope my brief stay will be just as enchanting as yours.

  2. Fiona says:

    Happy birthday to you Juliana! Your whirlwind trip to Paris sounds magical. I loved reading your descriptions of women there. Anything more you remember will be gladly read!

  3. Juliana says:

    Rebekah, I hope you get to go for your 40th! There is certainly no shortage of opportunities to eat well in Paris. 🙂

    Thank you, Fiona! I will be posting some more observations in the next day or so. Paris is a feast for the eyes…so much to take in!

  4. Oh, your posting makes me long to go visit Paris! It sounds simply DIVINE!! Thank you for sharing!! (Oh, and HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!)
    ~Christina 😉

    http://christinaville.wordpress.com/

  5. Juliana says:

    Thank you, Christina! I hope to post more about my trip soon!

Leave a Reply

